the finish line

27 07 2009

Phew! with a sigh of relief, satisfaction, and a big ouchy groan as I rub my aching legs – I have calves of steel now! – the Tour de Fleece is over.

My final yarn, the CMF BFL/dyed merino 3ply, cam in at a stonking 580m. Now wonder it felt like such a mission to spin! It’s still drying so my pics of it are unwashed & whacked:

purple people eater

purple people eater

The plying of it felt like it took almost as long as the spinning! I do like the end result, in my book you can never go too far wrong with aubergine, but with hindsight I wish I’d picked out a sagey merino to ply it with as I think the aubergine dominates too much.  But then I had aubergine in already and didn’t have sage so that would have meant I couldn’t spin this during the TdF and I really wanted to – I have no patience!

I got the finished yarns together for a final piccy:

all

I’m so pleased with what I’ve managed, I feel I’ve learned a lot (that bunnies really are evil, for one) and that my spinning has really improved.

I challenged myself to:

  • spin a luxury fibre I was scared of: camel/silk – check!
  • spin a low twist singles yarn – check!
  • spin up some angora/merino I was scared of – umm, ok, not check but not really my fault! turns out I was right to be scared!
  • get more confident spinning from batts: use up stashed ones I had made or been gifted – check, check, check!

Final stats: 2758m plied yarn, 6381m of singles. It’s a lot less than some people have spun on the tour, but about as much as I could do, wrists, legs and (oh yes) life allowing. I’m so pleased I took part, I feel a lot more confident about my spinning now and am looking forward to next year already!

For now though, I think I need a mindless knitting project…!

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 07 2009
upknitcreek

Very impressive

29 07 2009
Jon aka easyknitter

I’m shamed that I did not take part and have only spun 170m of plied yarn in the last 2 months… I am thoroughly impressed with your spinning and you’re learning. I am currently suffering the serious problem that most spinners face… spinning continually finer until you can’t spin thick any longer :-/

Well done on the TDF, now you need to have a TDK to use it all up :-)

6 08 2009
alternative knitter

Serious congratulations on your yarns… so beautiful… so so beautiful! Gobsmacked :)

23 04 2013
Dane

Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you, However I am having troubles with your RSS.
I don’t understand why I am unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone else getting similar RSS problems? Anyone that knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

