prize-tastic!

24 07 2009

I can’t quite believe it, but the last lot of TdF spinning – green 3-ply and sparkly black – won a prize! I posted the pics in the daily TdF photo thread on Ravelry and 111 people clicked on its (love) button (that last bit sounds really dodgy if you’re not on Rav…). I’m so chuffed!

I was even more pleased when I found out I could pick my prize from a selection donated for the Tour, and I got to pick from moonlightbaker’s shop on Etsy – I love her stuff! I picked some beauteous green merino/tencel batts called ‘Sea Glass’ which I can’t link to because she’s taken them out of the shop to send to me! Muahahaha! Mine allmiiiine!

In TdF news, I’m working on another 3ply from some CMF pencil roving – am going to be really upset when this is gone as it’s the last lot and I really doubt I can afford any more! So I’m trying to eke out all the yardage I can from it by spinning 2 bobbins CMF, one plain aubergine merino. The roving is BFL in ‘Stonehenge’ – my favourite of their many gorgeous colourways I think.

collage9

Druids go mad for it

I’ve also made a start on spinning up some Corriedale fleece which I started washing a while back but hadn’t spun any of. I’ve got just over 8oz and haven’t lost too much in the washing/carding process so think I’ll be able to get enough for a project out of it. This is 25g, 2ply and approx 70m I think – it’s hard to count the wraps on this teeny niddy-noddy!  I haven’t measured the wpi but it seems to want to spin reeeeally fine. It’s really lovely and squooshy and hasn’t even had another wash yet – it’s still a bit greasy so will have to see what happens when I wash it again. It’s all a learning experience!

mmm, bouncy

mmm, bouncy

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 07 2009
monbouton

your Aubergine merino is beautiful ! and congratulations for the prize !

26 07 2009
pieandsunshine

thankyou very much!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

